Proposal

For my blog series, I have decided to choose a different topic of which I have selected in my iLearn post. Instead, I will be focusing on research that could apply to my major. I will be looking at astronomical phenomena that occur in the universe. This will act as a precursor to what I will learn since I have yet to start my actual major classes, outside of calculus one and intro to astronomy. I have been primarily focusing on my general education classes and have found a complementary study along the way. My newly declared minor in American Indian Studies provides me with an ancient perspective and respect to the field.

Within my studies, my professors have told me there are lots of link between the philosophies of native peoples and modern science. So far I have seen these links and methodologies, such as creation stories and for every action is a reaction. More examples will be found as I do my research to branch the two together. Though one of my courses was cancelled by the college, I replaced the course with a philosophy and religious course in native perspective. One of the course materials is an astronomy book from the Crow people that I can use for research in this class as well as my methodology class. I find these all very important because they all somehow intertwine with each other: science and religion, religion and philosophy, philosophy and science. All of these subjects have fascinated me my entire life. Though I am not religious, I know the power of what philosophy and religion has on people as well as the scientific community, with the knowledge and competition toward each other. I want to learn what the native peoples of this land learned and studied in a time where religious persecution did not have an effect over different peoples. Similarly, scientists had persectution from religions in the past, acting as a common ground to evolve with the time and maybe in the future with each other. I would like to learn how these observations developed into their philosophies, which can help me look for my own answers as I grow into a field of modern science. I know that there are things that the natives’ could not have theorized due to modern advancements in technology and mathematical explanation. Branching beliefs is what gives scientists ways to explain through the mathematical sciences.

The native people, to my understanding as it is, must have been very limited in what they theorize and observe. But then again that plays into their philosophy as an explanation to what the universe is doing. From what I have learned in my courses this semester thus far, the native and scientific community can benefit each other greatly in the knowledge and explanations of universal mysteries. Scientists should be able to look and learn from the native practices, while native communities should be able to discuss their beliefs as science can confirm or deny these ideas. Each field has to adapt to survive in these growing times. Since I will be working alongside my AIS 300 research class, I have a wide array of credible sources through my textbooks and the student library, as well as the internet.

Leave a Reply

